Chicago, UK, Quebec Theatres to Get Top Architecture Honors

January 1, 2016
The Theatre School at DePaul University in Chicago; the Everyman Theatre in Liverpool, U.K.; and the Salle de Spectacles de Mont-Laurier in Quebec, Canada; will receive USITTs 2016 Architecture Award Honor Awards.

ThePerforming Arts Center at the State University of New York Potsdam and Norway’s Stavanger Concert Hall also will be recognized with Merit Awards in the annual competition for best contemporary performance spaces.

Designers and consultants for the winning venues will receive their awards at USITT 2016 in Salt Lake City March 16 to 19.

USITT’s Architecture Commission received 20 submissions to this year’s contest. This is the first time since 2001 that a jury has bestowed three Honor Awards.

This year’s jury, led by Architecture Vice Chair William Murray, AIA, included Architect Mark Reddington of LMN Architects in Seattle; Duane Schuler of Schuler Shook Theatre Consultants, Chicago; and Acoustician Russ Cooper of Jaffe Holden Acoustics, Norwalk, CT.